COVID-19. Updates & Resources

Skip to Content
chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up chevron-right chevron-left arrow-back star phone quote checkbox-checked search wrench info shield play connection mobile coin-dollar spoon-knife ticket pushpin location gift fire feed bubbles home heart calendar price-tag credit-card clock envelop facebook instagram twitter youtube pinterest yelp google reddit linkedin envelope bbb pinterest homeadvisor angies

New England Women of Excellence Award

About the Award: The regional honor is open to women across the pest management industry – PMP’s, manufacturers, research organizations, etc. who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and have made notable contributions to the development and growth of the profession and their companies. Nominees may be nominated by more than one person. Nominees should reside and/or work in at least one of the New England States: Connecticut, Maine Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, or Vermont.

Nominations are due annually on February 1st. NEPMA Women of Excellence Nomination Form
You may nominate more than one person, but please submit a separate survey for each. Contact with any questions.

The winner will receive:

  •  A plaque
  • $100 gift card
  • Recognition in industry magazines/media

The judging process is double-blind. All nominations are stripped of any identifying information (name, location, company affiliation, etc.) and put into a scoring sheet. Judges score the nominations based on the following criteria and weights:

  • Service to industry: 50%
  • Service to company: 25%
  • Service to the community and other women: 25%

The New England Women of Excellence Award is presented at the Annual Awards Dinner in March, in conjunction with Spring Training.

The 2021 Women of Excellence Award recipient is Courtney Carace.

A bit about Courtney:

  • How long have you been in the industry?
    I am currently one of the owners and the COO of Pest-End Inc.  Beginning my journey into the world of pest control as a part time office administrator at Pest-End Inc. after school in 2004, I have over 16 years of experience in the industry and have held various office administration, technical, management, and executive positions.  In 2010, I obtained my  National Entomology Scent Detection Canine Association certification and was a bed bug canine handler for several years for the company.  I am also a licensed and certified pest control operator in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Maine.  More recently, I earned my Associate Certified Entomologist (ACE) certification.  I was also selected to participate in the National Pest Management Association’s Executive Leadership Program and currently am on the New England Professional Women in Pest Management Committee.
  • What’s your favorite part about being in the industry?
    The people and, specifically, the sense of community is my absolute favorite part of the industry.  Whether you are working with customers, meeting with your team, or attending industry events, building relationships with individuals is so rewarding. The pest control industry is so unique. Despite being competitors, everyone I meet, whether they live near me or on the West Coast, is willing to have open and honest conversations about their businesses, their strengths and weaknesses, their challenges and successes.  It is so energizing to attend an in-person event, or, more recently, a virtual event and connect with individuals across the country and learn from their experiences and share your own.  There is no judgement.  The open dialogue and willingness to help is so refreshing.  I have developed friendships with so many remarkable people in the industry–people I can call or text or email when I need advice or guidance or just to bounce a new idea around.  The support of women in our industry is also unparalleled.  No one is tearing someone else down to climb their way to the top.  There is a genuine feeling of inclusivity and camaraderie.  Ultimately, everyone in the pest control industry, whether on a local, state, regional or national level, is committed to the ideal of protecting public health and our nation’s food supply. As we all work toward this collective goal, knowing that you have this support system, this sense of community is so inspiring and gratifying.
  • Describe yourself in one word.
    If tired isn’t an acceptable answer given the last year of juggling remote learning, running a business, and the overall impacts of Covid-19 in general, I would have to say that the word determined describes me best.
  • Who is your role model?
    My parents are undoubtedly my role models.  They both spent their careers in education–from teachers to principals to assistant superintendents and superintendents–they did it all.  They were dedicated to their jobs, to their students, to their staff, to others who worked in education, and to their community.  Most importantly, they were committed to their family.  Their compassion for people and their relentless work ethic are two things that I admire greatly and hope to emulate myself.  Though my dad is no longer with us, the lessons that he taught me remain and have helped to make me a better leader.  To this day, I still call my mom for advice when I encounter a difficult challenge and her guidance always helps to inform my decisions.
Marillian Missiti presents the Women of Excellence Award to Courtney Carace at the NEPMA Spring Training

Past Recipients

2021 Courtney Carace, Pest-End Exterminators
2020 Julie Heincelman, JP Pest Services

If you would like to support these programs please consider making a donation to New England PWIPM or the Mark Weintraub Scholarship Fund. Contact for more information or donate to the scholarship fund online here.